Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Dedication Ceremony Held for York County’s Fire Station 7

YORK COUNTY — A dedication ceremony was held on Sept. 19 for Mooretown Fire Station, York County’s seventh fire station.

Fire Chief/Director Stephen Kopczynski said during the event, “Today’s ceremony culminates years of anticipation. The need for this facility was identified in the mid-2000s, but other competing needs took priority. However, a unique opportunity presented itself and we now have a new fire station providing improved response services to the citizens, our businesses and visitors in this part of the county.”

“In York County, our personnel take exceptional pride in our commitment to provide the very highest levels of service to those we serve. No matter the fire station or assignment, you will find our numbers portraying the highest levels of service excellence.” Kopczyski continued, “As you will witness today, our folks demonstrate this service excellence and commitment each and every single day, whether on emergency incidents or just in our interaction with our community.”

Kopczynski ended his remarks with words of appreciation to the many groups that assisted in opening the station, including contractors, York County government officials, local businesses and the community at large.

Other speakers included County Administrator Neil Morgan, Chairman of the York County  Board of Supervisors Thomas Shepperd Jr. and District 1 Representative Walter Zaremba.

The dedication ended with a traditional “hose uncoupling” ceremony, followed by tours of the new facility.

The new station was established by York County through the adaptive reuse of a former youth group home.

Fire Station 7 will respond to areas of Mooretown, Bypass/Waller Mill area, and Richmond Road. This station will also provide a primary backup response to the Bruton and Skimino Fire Stations, along with automatic mutual aid into the City of Williamsburg and James City County.

Related Articles