Monday, February 26, 2024

Junior Woman’s Club of Williamsburg Awards 2023 Scholarships

WILLIAMSBURG — The Junior Woman’s Club of Williamsburg (JWCW) recently announced its 2023 scholarship recipients.

2023 Richard E. DePaul Memorial Scholarship for Visual and Performing Arts recipients:

  • Katelyn Workman from Lafayette High School, attending Virginia Peninsula Community College.

  • Calisa Hagerman from Warhill High School, attending Virginia Commonwealth University.

  • Delaney Gibbons, from Williamsburg Christian Academy, attending Salisburg University.

2023 Pete & Nan Cruikshank Community Service Scholarship recipient: 

Christopher Clemens from Walsingham Academy, attending the University of Georgia.

“Our scholarships are funded through our events and fundraisers throughout the year, and we’re honored to award these exceptional students,” JWCW President Ali Blankinship said. “Typically we acknowledge the DePaul Memorial Scholarship winners at our annual Art on the Square event held on the last Sunday in April, but due to the cancellation this year, the winners were invited to our May monthly membership meeting to introduce themselves to the club.”

According to JWCW, recipients of the DePaul Memorial Scholarship must be graduating seniors, live in Williamsburg, James City County, or the Bruton District of York County, receive admission to an accredited college or university, and plan to major or minor in visual or performing arts with plans to pursue an arts-related career.

Cruikshank Community Service Scholarship recipients are recognized for their outstanding community service, scholastic ability, and other achievements, JWCW said.

For more information about these scholarships, visit the JWCW website.

Related Articles