Monday, March 4, 2024

Juneteenth Closures Around the Historic Triangle


HISTORIC TRIANGLE — On June 17, 2021, President Joseph Biden signed the Juneteenth National Independence Day Act creating June 19 as a national holiday. This year, Juneteenth will be observed Monday, June 20. Here is how local offices and services are impacted by the holiday.

City of Williamsburg

City of Williamsburg offices will be closed Monday, June 20, 2022, in observance of Juneteenth. This includes all offices in the Municipal Building on Lafayette Street, Williamsburg Regional Library administrative offices in the Stryker Center, and the Williamsburg-James City County Courthouse on Monticello Avenue.

Quarterpath Recreation Center will be closed Saturday, June 18 through Monday, June 20. Waller Mill Park will follow normal operating hours, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Garbage will be collected on its regular schedule Monday and Tuesday; recycling is not scheduled for collection. For water emergencies after hours, weekends, and holidays, please call 757-220-2331. More information can be found at

Need to pay a City bill when offices are closed? A convenient 24-hour bill payment dropbox is located at the front of the Municipal Building, 401 Lafayette St., for City transactions, and payments can be made online. Dropbox payments made on Monday, June 20, will not be posted until Tuesday, June 21.

James City County

James City County offices, facilities, services, libraries and courts will observe the following schedule for the Juneteenth holiday:

County Offices:
Closed Monday, June 20.

James City County Recreation Center and Abram Frink Jr. Community Center:
Open Monday, June 20.

All County parks are open year-round.

Park Stores and Guest Services Offices:
Chickahominy Riverfront Park, Little Creek Reservoir Park, James City County Marina and Freedom Park office/stores are open Monday, June 20.

Convenience Centers:
Tewning Road, Jolly Pond Road and Toano are open Monday, June 20.

Garbage Transfer Station:
Open Monday, June 20.

Curbside Recycling:
No change.

Closed Monday, June 20.

Closed Monday, June 20.

York County

The following York County government offices and courts will be closed on Monday, June 20, in observance of the Juneteenth holiday:

  • County government offices
  • Courts
  • York-Poquoson Social Services
  • Virginia Cooperative Extension
  • York County Libraries

The Transfer Station, Recycling Drop-off, and VPPSA Compost Facility located at the Waste Management Center will be open; however, the on-site administrative offices will be closed.  Citizens needing assistance are reminded to submit requests via the Customer Service Request Portal.

Garbage and recycling are not affected by the holiday.  Residents are reminded to place their trash and recycling containers at the roadside by 7 a.m. on their regular collection day.

Related Articles