Saturday, April 20, 2024

VA250 Honorary Leadership Council Announced

Gov. Youngkin speaks at The Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission announcement of an Honorary Leadership Council at St. John’s Church in Richmond. (VA250 photo)

RICHMOND — The Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) Honorary Leadership Council was announced Tuesday at St. John’s Church in Richmond.

The church was the site of Patrick Henry’s famous “give me liberty or give me death” speech.

The Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) was established by the General Assembly in 2020 to commemorate the 250th anniversary of the American Revolution.

The Honorary Leadership Council will consist of Gov. Glenn Youngkin, all living former Virginia governors, the state’s entire congressional delegation, key state officials, and VA250 National Honorary Chair Carly Fiorina, according to the commission.

Patrick Henry speaks at a reenactment of the Second Virginia Convention of March 1775. (VA250 photo)

Attendees heard from commission officials, Gov. Youngkin, Fiorina, and witnessed a reenactment from the Second Virginia Convention of March 1775, including Henry’s famous speech.

“This next chapter is defined by reconfirming our commitment to that founding spirit. The spirit of Virginia. The spirit of America. This is where it all began — with a spark, on a hill,” Younkin said of plans for the anniversary. “In no small part due to the dedication and the commitment and the support of everyone in this room and people across the Commonwealth, we will commemorate and we will celebrate these events. And we will remember where we have come from.”

“The vibrant glows of victory won, and the dark truths of a nation’s failings. The heroic moments between then and now that put us further along this collective pursuit of that more perfect union,” he added. “The next 250 years will come, and united with that same universal mission, ignited by that same spark, the light of America will shine even brighter.”

Fiorina stressed the importance of the commission’s efforts to engage and educate at a time when many Americans are at odds and have lost touch with their shared history and the great experiment born 250 years ago.

“On July 4, in addition to fireworks and tall ships and whiskey, we also hope that Virginians — indeed Americans across the country — will join with those citizens who are being naturalized and raise their right hand and take the Oath of Citizenship once again, to recommit,” Fiorina said. “That while we may be a fractious, restless nation. While we may disagree about many things, that we are first and foremost, so fortunate to be Americans. And that our role is always to work, each and every day, to form a more perfect union.”

The VA250 Honorary Leadership Council

  • Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair
  • Gov. Glenn Youngkin
  • Lt. Gov Winsome Earle-Sears
  • Attorney General Jason Miyares
  • Virginia House of Delegates Speaker Don Scott
  • Virginia Senator President Pro Tempore L. Louise Lucas

Former Governors of Virginia

  • Gov. Ralph Northam, 2018 – 2022
  • Gov. Terry McAuliffe, 2014 – 2018
  • Gov. Robert McDonnell, 2010 – 2014
  • Sen. Tim Kaine, Governor 2006 – 2010
  • Sen. Mark Warner, Governor 2002 – 2006
  • Gov. James Gilmore, 1998 – 2002
  • Gov. George Allen, 1994 – 1998
  • Gov. L. Douglas Wilder, 1990 – 1994
  • Gov. Charles Robb, 1982 – 1986

Congressional Delegation

  • Congressman Rob Wittman, 1st District
  • Congresswoman Jen Kiggans, 2nd District
  • Congressman Bobby Scott, 3rd District
  • Congresswoman Jennifer McClellan, 4th District
  • Congressman Bob Good, 5th District
  • Congressman Ben Cline, 6th District
  • Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger, 7th District
  • Congressman Don Beyer, 8th District
  • Congressman Morgan Griffith, 9th District
  • Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton, 10th District
  • Congressman Gerry Connolly, 11th District

Related Articles