Sunday, February 25, 2024

Tabb’s Solaroli Named Group 4A Field Hockey Player of the Year

Izzy Solaroli helped Tabb earn its sixth state championship in the past eight seasons. (file photo)
Izzy Solaroli helped Tabb earn its sixth state championship in the past eight seasons. (File Photo)

The postseason accolades keep piling up for members of Tabb’s field hockey team, who defeated James Monroe 1-0 in the Group 4A state championship game earlier this month.

After earning All-Conference and All-Region honors, Tabb midfielder Izzy Solaroli was named Group 4A Player of the Year, while Tabb Head Coach Wendy Wilson was named Coach of the Year.

In addition to Solaroli, a University of Iowa commit, three other Tabb players earned first-team honors. Those three players were forward Miya Denison, forward Courtney Fiest and defender Cassidy Clark.

Tabb was not the only Historic Triangle team to have players earn first-team All-State honors, as York and Grafton each had two selections.

For York, forward Jordyn Keller and defender Courtney Ray earned first-team recognition. For the Clippers, forward Sydnie Swartwood and defender Erin Malone earned honors.

More local players also earned second-team recognition, including Warhill forward Kayla Cooke. York midfielder Bentley Zabicki, Grafton midfielder Emma Kirschke, Tabb midfielder Sarah Mueller, Tabb defender Jessie Meyers and Grafton goalkeeper Laurel Nicks were named to the second team.

Below are the full Group 4A selections:

Coach of the Year
Wendy Wilson, Tabb

Player of the Year
Izzy Solaroli, senior, Tabb

First Team

Forward: Miya Denison, junior, Tabb
Forward: Lizzie Hamlett, sophomore, James Monroe
Forward: Jordyn Keller, junior, York
Forward: Sydnie Swartwood, senior, Grafton
Forward: Courtney Fiest, junior, Tabb
Midfield: Izzy Solaroli, senior, Tabb
Midfield: Ashley Kim, sophomore, James Monroe
Midfield: Peyton Tollaksen, sophomore, Great Bridge
Midfield: Valerie Hajek, junior, Western Albemarle
Midfield: Rebecca Hamlett, senior, James Monroe
Defender: Cassidy Clark, senior, Tabb
Defender: Erin Malone, junior, Grafton
Defender: Catesby Willis, senior, James Monroe
Defender: Kristin Jasinkski, senior, Poquoson
Defender: Courtney Ray, senior, York
Goalkeeper: Leslie Speight, senior, Poquoson

Second Team

Forward: Rebecca Fraser, senior, Great Bridge
Forward: Kayla Cooke, senior, Warhill
Forward: Madison Healy, junior, Eastern View
Forward: Madison Masloff, junior, Western Albemarle
Forward: Lauren Elmore, junior, Midlothian
Midfield: Bentley Zabicki, senior, York
Midfield: Emily Deuell, junior, Poquoson
Midfield: Emma Kirschke, junior, Grafton
Midfield: Sarah Mueller, sophomore, Tabb
Midfield: Nora Mulroy, junior, Midlothian
Defender: Kolbey Donahue, sophomore, Great Bridge
Defender: Jessie Meyers, junior, Tabb
Defender: Frankie Urcia, senior, Midlothian
Defender: Eliza Brodie, senior, Western Albemarle
Defender: Jordan Howard, senior, Eastern View
Goalkeeper: Laurel Nicks, junior, Grafton

Related Articles