Saturday, July 20, 2024

10 Local Field Hockey Players Earn First-Team All-Conference Honors

Sydnie Swartwood was named Conference 18 Player of the Year. (file photo)
Sydnie Swartwood was named Conference 18 Player of the Year. (file photo)

Ten Historic Triangle field hockey players were named to the All-Conference 18 first team Friday.

Grafton led area teams with six first-team selections, while Lafayette had three and Jamestown added one.

For the Clippers, forwards Sydnie Swartwood and Grace Hoepfner earned first-team honors. Swartwood was also named Conference 18 Player of the Year.

Grafton’s Emma Kirschke and Liv Lilygren, both midfields, were also named to the first team. Finally, defender Erin Malone and goalkeeper Laurel Nicks rounded out the first-team selections for Grafton.

Lafayette’s first-team selections were forward Lauren Walker, midfielder Caroline Schweitzer and defender Makayla Guerrero. Walker led Lafayette with seven goals.

Chris Jones, the head coach of Lafayette, praised his players for how much progress they made over the season.

“I’m very pleased we had 10 be named to All-Conference teams,” Jones said. “Our team was much improved over what it’s been for the last three years.”

Jamestown’s lone first-team selection came from defender Maddie Clevinger.

Below are the first and second-team All-Conference selections in full.

Player of the Year

Sydnie Swartwood, forward, Grafton

Coach of the Year

Wendy Conyers, Smithfield

First Team

Forward: Sydnie Swartwood, Grafton
Forward: Grace Hoepfner, Grafton
Forward: Emma Claire Stewart, Smithfield
Forward: Libby Darden, Smithfield
Forward: Lauren Walker, Lafayette
Midfield: Emma Kirschke, Grafton
Midfield: Liv Lilygren, Grafton
Midfield: Rachel Lange, Smithfield
Midfield: Courtney Collins, Smithfield
Midfield: Caroline Schweitzer, Lafayette
Defender: Erin Malone, Grafton
Defender: Tejah Twine, Heritage
Defender: Maddie Clevinger, Jamestown
Defender: Jessica Bruner, Smithfield
Defender: Makayla Guerrero, Lafayette
Goalkeeper: Laurel Nicks, Grafton

Second Team

Forward: Taylor Straus, Grafton
Forward: Emily Robitaille, Jamestown
Forward: Skylar Hedgepeth, Smithfield
Forward: Kelsey Huckins, Lafayette
Forward: Devin Lucas, Lafayette
Midfield: Amari Holmes, Heritage
Midfield: Abby Smith, Jamestown
Midfield: Maddie Ericksen, Smithfield
Midfield: Billie Huber, Denbigh
Midfield: Erin Zrakovi, Lafayette
Defender: Megan Harrah, Grafton
Defender: Meghan Malone, Grafton
Defender: Jordan Anderson, Smithfield
Defender: Brie Gillan, Lafayette
Defender: Olivia Sears, Lafayette
Goalkeeper: Gabby Boesler, Lafayette

Related Articles