Monday, December 11, 2023

The governor just awarded $6 million in new school security equipment grants. Here’s how much we got

Gov. Ralph Northam on Thursday awarded $6 million in School Security Equipment Grants to protect students and teachers in 102 school divisions and the Virginia School for the Deaf and Blind.

According to a news release, the grants will pay for video monitoring systems, metal detectors, classroom locks, electronic-access controls, visitor-identification systems, direct communications links between schools and law enforcement agencies and other security upgrades in 443 schools and other institutional facilities.

“Since its inception in 2013, the school security equipment grant program has funded nearly 2,900 new projects and system upgrades to ensure the safety Virginia students and educators,” Northam said. “These grants are a key component of the Commonwealth’s comprehensive approach to protecting schools.”

The criteria for making the awards — developed by the Virginia Department of Education and the state Department of Criminal Justice Services — give priority to schools most in need of modern security equipment, schools with relatively high numbers of offenses, schools with equipment needs identified by a school security audit, and schools in divisions least able to afford security upgrades.

What did we get?

Hampton: $100,000 for A.W.E. Bassette Elementary, Aberdeen Elementary, Alfred S. Forrest Elementary, Barron Elementary, Benjamin Syms Middle, Bethel High, Booker Elementary, C. Alton Lindsay Middle, Captain John Smith Elementary, Cesar Tarrant Middle, Christopher C. Kraft Elementary, Francis W. Jones Magnet Middle, Hampton High, Hunter B. Andrews PK-8, Jane H. Bryan Elementary, John B. Cary Elementary, John Tyler Elementary, Kecoughtan High, Luther W. Machen Elementary, Paul Burbank Elementary, Phillips Elementary, Phoebus High, Samuel P. Langley Elementary, Thomas Eaton Middle and William Mason Cooper Elementary.

Newport News: $99,580 for Achievable Dream Middle/High, Aviation Academy, B.T. Washington Middle, David A. Dutrow Elementary, Ethel M. Gildersleeve Middle, Heritage High, J.M. Dozier Middle, John Marshall Early Childhood Center and Mary Passage Middle School.

Related Articles