Saturday, December 9, 2023

WCF Awards $129,256 in Scholarships to Area High School Seniors

2022 Williamsburg Community Foundation Williamsburg-James City County Scholarship Fund award recipients. (Williamsburg Community Foundation)

WILLIAMSBURG — The Williamsburg Community Foundation’s (WCF) Williamsburg-James City County Scholarship Fund has awarded $129,256 in scholarships to 81 graduating seniors of Lafayette, Jamestown, and Warhill High Schools in 2022.

It is the highest amount awarded by the Foundation and the largest number of scholarship recipients in its 48 years of awarding scholarships.

The scholarships range from $1,000 to $5,000 and may be used for post-high school education — including two- and four-year schools. Scholarships are awarded based on a variety of factors, including curriculum difficulty, class rank, extra-curricular activities, application essay, and, in some cases, financial need.

Many of the scholarships have been created in honor or memory of a loved one, and often have specific criteria, such as interest in a particular field, or participation in music or performing arts, sports, or community service. View the full list of scholarships with their criteria.

This year marked the first scholarship awarded in memory of Coach Dan Barner, awarded to a Lafayette High School student that demonstrates resiliency and other qualities Coach Barner encouraged: leadership, integrity, and school spirit. This year’s recipients are Jordan Rhodes and Joey Sims.

Several scholarships have corporate sponsors. One example, the Riverside Doctors’ Hospital Williamsburg scholarships, support students planning to work in the field of healthcare with a scholarship awarded to one student from each of the three high schools.

TowneBank of Williamsburg also sponsors a scholarship for a student from each school, and other corporate scholarships include Henry S. Branscome LLC, Chesapeake Bank, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and Legacy Financial Group.

Seven students received Williamsburg Community Foundation Scholarships in 2022, which made possible by the generous donations of local residents who donate to the Scholarship Fund and the Scholarship Endowment.

The organization also thanked its scholarship committee for its work. Committee members and volunteers are Lisa Lucas (Chair), Sally Berger, Anthony Conyers III, Susan Edwards, Corinne Garland, James Goggin, Merry Guernsey, David Hand, Shelby Hawthorne, Kim Hundley, Debbie Muse, Karen Peterson, Wilma Sharp, and Jeanne Zeidler.

Related Articles