Saturday, June 15, 2024

York County School Board names chair and vice-chair for 2021

The York County School Board named Brett Higginbotham of District 2 chairman of the board for 2021. Laurel Garrelts of District 3 has been named Vice-Chair.

The announcements were made at the board regular Jan. 11 meeting.

Poquoson Middle School band teacher Higginbotham took the position of Jimmy Richardson who represents District 4 and is still serving on the board.

Garrelts who is now vice-chair has been a volunteer in the county schools for  multiple years. For 12 years she served in the Parent Teacher Associations of her children’s schools.

Both Higginbotham and Garrelts terms are set to expire in January 2024.

Mark Shafer also sits on the board representing District 1 and Sean Myatt represents District 5 for York County.

To stay updated on York County Division happenings and the York County School Board, be sure to follow the school division’s Facebook page here.



Related Articles