Sunday, July 21, 2024

York County Board of Supervisors elects new chair

Sheila Noll, York County Board of Supervisors Chair. (Courtesy York County.)

York County’s Board of Supervisors elected a new chairman Tuesday night.

According to a county press release, Sheila S. Noll of District 2 will serve as Board Chair in 2017. Jeffrey D. Wassmer (District 4) was elected Vice Chairman.

Noll is serving her sixth term on the Board of Supervisors and has previously served as both Chair and Vice Chair, according to the press release.  

Noll is a current member of the Transportation Committee of the Virginia Association of Counties. Noll has also served on the Peninsula Alliance for Economic Development and the AARP Tax Counseling for the Elderly Program.

Wassmer is in his first term on the board and served as Chairman in 2016. Wassmer is Chief Executive Officer of Spectrum, a company he founded in 1999. He serves on several civic organizations, including Colonial Virginia Council, Boy Scouts of America as Council President, the Peninsula Fine Arts Center Board of Trustees, and as a board member of an Achievable Dream.

The York County Board of Supervisors meetings begin at 6 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of every month, excluding the first Tuesdays in July and November.

Related Articles