Thursday, November 30, 2023

WJCC Schools Select Teachers of the Year

WJCC LogoThirty-two educators have been named 2015-2016 Teachers of Year at their respective schools in the Williamsburg-James City County School Division.

Each teacher was selected for the honor via a vote by their colleagues.

One teacher from the elementary, middle and high school levels will be recognized, then one teacher will be named the division-wide Teacher of the Year.

The following educators have been named 2015-2016 Teachers of the Year:


  • Sarah Sams, early childhood special education, Bright Beginnings
  • James Goggin, physical education, Clara Byrd Baker
  • Fawna Wilcox, special education, D.J. Montague
  • Marilee Ward, math specialist, J. Blaine Blayton
  • Heidi Meadows, kindergarten, James River
  • Andrea Freeland, fifth grade, Matoaka
  • Bryan Cole, fifth grade, Matthew Whaley
  • Kelly Parsons, second grade, Norge
  • Amy Gauntt, kindergarten, Rawls Byrd
  • Evelyn R. Jessie, fourth grade, Stonehouse


  • Shari Vandygriff, English, Berkeley
  • Debra Kosloski, Science, Hornsby
  • Valerie Hart, general music, Toano


  • Chris Eames, math, Jamestown
  • Suzan McCorry, theater, Lafayette
  • Katie Maclauchlan, English, Warhill

Related Articles