Tuesday, April 23, 2024

WJCC Schools Honors 2022 Teachers of the Year

Penny Pulley, Chair of the WJCC Schools Foundation (left), Stephanie Kline, division-wide teacher of the year middle, and Olwen Herron, Ed.D, superintendent of Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools (Courtesy of WJCC Schools)

WILLIAMSBURG – JAMES CITY COUNTY — The Williamsburg James City County (WJCC) School Division recognized its teachers in an awards ceremony this past weekend.

The ceremony was held at the William & Mary School of Education on May 5. WJCC Schools celebrated teachers from the division’s 17 schools by presenting an award to each school that honored an exceptional educator.

The recipients:

  • Kathryn Hanna — Bright Beginnings
  • Marie Parks — Clara Byrd Baker Elementary School
  • Tamara Donovan — D.J. Montague Elementary School
  • Sarah Schleicher — J. Blaine Blayton Elementary School
  • Tracy Clary — James River Elementary School
  • Stephanie Kline — Laurel Lane Elementary School
  • Alison Howell — Matoaka Elementary School
  • Rachael Davis — Norge Elementary School
  • April Farulli — Stonehouse Elementary School
  • Robin Jones — Berkeley Middle School
  • Jenny March — James Blair Middle School
  • JiSoo Kim — Lois S. Hornsby Middle School
  • Emily Cobb — Toano Middle School
  • Christine Mcbee — Matthew Whaley Elementary School
  • Joy Tyson — Jamestown High School
  • Andrew Linn — Lafayette High School
  • Jerome Rhodes — Warhill High School

“As Superintendent, it is always heartening to hear our teachers’ hopes for their students, to see those hopes transform into confidence, and for confidence to build dreams and aspirations,” said WJCC Schools Superintendent Olwen Herron. “I know they’re working every day to bring students’ hopes to life and their dreams to fruition.”

At the ceremony, WJCC Schools also presented awards for its level teachers of the year. These teachers, according to WJCC schools, represented “the best of the best at the elementary, middle and high school levels.”

The recipients are listed below:

  • Stephanie Kline, kindergarten teacher at Laurel Lane Elementary — Elementary School Teacher of the Year
  • Emily Cobb, math teacher at Toano Middle — Middle School Teacher of the Year
  • Jerome Rhodes, health and PE teacher at Warhill High — High School Teacher of the Year

Stephanie Kline was also the recipient of the WJCC Schools’ Division-wide Teacher of the Year award.

For more information on previous awards winners as well as this year’s, please head over to WJCC Schools’ website.

Related Articles