Tuesday, June 18, 2024

WJCC Schools to Continue to Follow Adjusted Schedules for Remainder of School Year

WJCC will continue its adjusted school schedule for the remainder of the school year. (WYDaily file)

WILLIAMSBURG-JAMES CITY COUNTY — Williamsburg-James City County (WJCC) Schools will continue to follow the adjusted school schedules through the remainder of the school year.

In a Wednesday, Jan. 26 announcement, the division said that the adjusted school schedules, which were put in place in the fall, will continue for the rest of the year for the convenience of the school community.

WJCC made temporary changes to school hours in the fall to address the ongoing transportation issues that were causing delays at the schools.

The division tested out a 5-10 minute change to school start and end times to allow more time for bus drivers to get to and from school.

Following a successful two-week test, the division maintained the adjusted hours for the reminder oof the first semester.

The hours for Jamestown, Lafayette and Warhill High Schools remain 7:15 a.m. – 2:15 p.m.

Lois S. Hornsby, James Blair, Berkeley and Toano Middle Schools’ hours remain 8 a.m. – 2:50 p.m.

D.J. Montague, James River and Stonehouse Elementary Schools’ hours are 8:55 a.m. – 3:25 p.m.

Clara Byrd Baker, J. Blaine Blayton, Laurel Lane, Matoaka, Matthew Whaley, and Norge Elementary Schools are 9:40 a.m. to 4:10 p.m.

Bright Beginnings preschool hours are 8:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. for Laurel Lane and J. Blaine Blayton, and 9:45 a.m. – 1:45 p.m. for Clara Byrd Baker, D.J. Montague and Norge.

Related Articles