York’s Poelker, Hagerty earn Conference 27’s top boys’ soccer honors

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Max Poelker helped lead York to a Conference 27 title. (file photo)

Members of the York High School boys’ soccer team took home top honors in Conference 27 during the recently completed 2016 season.

Senior midfielder Max Poelker was named the conference’s Player of the Year. And for the second consecutive year, Falcons Coach Ryan Hagerty was named Conference 27 Coach of the Year.

Hagerty heaped praise on his “good group” of players for making his job easier and helping him earn his most recent award.

“In high school, you’ve got who you’ve got. Special players make your job easier,” he said. “When you have a good team like that, the expectations are really high. I’d always rather have too many good players than bad. It’s a good problem to have.”

One such special York player is Poelker, a Longwood University commit. He has been a versatile player for the Falcons this season, playing primarily in the midfield but also providing spells in the defensive and attacking thirds when needed.

For his efforts, which included 19 goals and 17 assists, Poelker earned his third consecutive first-team All-Conference selection. He also helped lead York (15-2-1) to a Conference 27 championship and an appearance in the Group 3A East tournament, where the Falcons will host James Monroe (16-2) in the semifinal round on Thursday.

“He’s been kind of our heart and soul,” Hagerty said. “He embodies what we stand for at York. With him being a senior captain, he was kind of my versatile guy who I could put all over the place.”

In addition to Poelker, York had 12 players named to the All-Conference 27 teams, with eight players earning first-team honors.

Another Historic Triangle team to have players earn postseason honors was Tabb High School, which also posted 13 All-Conference selections. Of the Tigers’ selections, seven were first-team selections.

Below are the complete All-Conference 27 selections:

Coach of the Year
Ryan Hagerty, York

Player of the Year
Max Poelker, senior, York

First Team
Bailey McClure, senior, York
Cameron Dail, senior, York
Matt Montgomery, senior, Tabb
Andrew Lenfant, sophomore, Tabb
Allen Blair, junior, Tabb
Max Poelker, senior, York
Derek Cook, senior, Tabb
Cameron Dunbar, freshman, York
Reese Wolf, senior, Tabb
Paul Mahaffy, sophomore, York
Cole Hawkins, senior, York
Zach Brown, freshman, Tabb
Gavin Homan, senior, York
Ben Barton, junior, Tabb
Parish Howell, senior, Booker T. Washington
Jacob Reimers, junior, York

Second Team
Nate Jacobson, junior, Tabb
Adam Worley, junior, Lakeland
Aaron Reyes, sophomore, York
Nick Avis, sophomore, York
Kaelen Hinton, senior, Booker T. Washington
Josh Everard, junior, Tabb
Andrew Jurewicz, senior, Tabb
David Lee, junior, York
Hunter Rawls, sophomore, Lakeland
Eddie Guardado, freshman, Booker T. Washington
Preston Klekar, sophomore, Tabb
Alex Kleb, junior, Tabb
Alasair Tompson, junior, York
Clay Evans, senior, York
Amir Carter, senior, Booker T. Washington
Noah Shorb, junior, Tabb