Legislators appointed to Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation board

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Jamestown Yorktown FoundationThe Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation recently welcomed four members of the Virginia General Assembly to its Board of Trustees.

Sens. Emmett W. Hanger, Jr., Stephen D. Newman and Frank M. Ruff, Jr., and Del. Daun Sessoms Hester all have been appointed to the board and will serve terms concurrent with their terms in office.

Hanger, co-chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, has represented the 24th Senate District since 1996 and previously served in the Virginia House of Delegates and as Augusta County Commissioner of the Revenue.

Newman, the president pro tempore of the Senate, hails from Forest and has represented the 23rd Senate District since 1996. He previously served in the House of Delegates and on the Lynchburg City Council.

Ruff, who represents the 15th Senate District, was appointed to the board by the Senate Committee on Rules. He previously served in the House of Delegates and on the Mecklenburg County Board of Supervisors.

Hester, of Norfolk, has represented the 89th House District since 2012 and previously served on the Norfolk City Council, including four years as vice mayor. House of Delegates Speaker William J. Howell appointed her to the board.