Wrestling: Lafayette Wins Twice at Bruton Quad

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Luke Armstrong
Grafton's Luke Armstrong defeated Lafayette's Griffin Hurt. (Ty Hodges/WYDaily)

« 1 of 5 »


Lafayette's wrestling team went 2-1 during a quad at Bruton High School on Tuesday.

Grafton, Bruton and Poquoson also competed in the quad, with Poquoson going a perfect 3-0 against the Historic Triangle teams. Both Grafton and Bruton went 0-2 on the day.

Lafayette earned a 50-20 win over Grafton and a 51-24 win over Bruton, but suffered a 30-40 loss to Poquoson. Grafton and Bruton also fell to Poquoson by a final of 36-42 and 12-42, respectively.

For Grafton, Braxton Fell went undefeated at 152 pounds by beating Lafayette's Kevin Nguyen and Poquoson's Ian Buress. Luke Armstrong went undefeated for the Clippers at 170 pounds with wins against Lafayette's Griffin Hurt and Poquoson's Colton Hicks.

Julian Miller was the final Grafton wrestler to go undefeated on the day at 285 points with wins over Lafayette's Noah Cotton and Poquoson via forfeit.

Full results were not immediately available for the quad, but this story will be updated as they become available.

Poquoson 40, Lafayette 30
Poquoson 42, Bruton 12
Lafayette 51, Bruton 24

Lafayette 50 Grafton 20
106: Anthony Anderson (L) won by forfeit
113: Caleb Troupe (L) won by forfeit
120: Double forfeit
126: Sam Brimhall (G) won by forfeit
132: Henry Cohn (L) pin Jacob Carrasquillo 3:20
138: Connor Wrann (L) tech fall Jeremiah Vivero 17-1
145: Kane Hurt (L) dec. Aaron Daugherty 7-1
152: Braxton Fell (G) maj dec. Kevin Nguyen 10-2
160: Denziel Wilshire (L) won by forfeit
170: Luke Armstrong (G) maj dec. Griffin Hurt 10-2
182: Larenzo McGilvary (L) pin Sam Smyth 1:13
195: Kieren Simpson (L) won by forfeit
220: Austin Trumblay (L) won by forfeit
285: Julian Miller (G) pin Noah Cotton 3:05

Poquoson 42 Grafton 36
106: Brett Poultney (P) won by forfeit
113: Mathew Costa (P) won by forfeit
120: Seth Ratliffe (P) won by forfeit
126: Nick Faison (G) pin Hunter Darouse 1:15
132: Jacob Carrasquillo (G) dec. Cole Parks 7-2
138: Jeremiah Vivero (G) pin Noah Hunter 1:40
145: Aaron Daugherty (G) pin Hayden Eastman 3:56
152: Braxton Fell (G) dec. Ian Buress 7-5 SV
160: Max Barrett (P) won by forfeit
170: Kyle Poultney (P) pin Sam Smyth 0:27
182: Luke Armstrong (G) pin Colton Hicks 3:31
195: Robert Henesey (P) won by forfeit
220: Dalton Jones (P) won by forfeit
285: Julian Miller (G) won by forfeit