York’s Reynolds Earns Conference 27 Defensive Player of the Year

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Darius Reynolds was named Conference 27 Defensive Player of the Year. (File Photo)
Darius Reynolds was named Conference 27 Defensive Player of the Year. (File Photo)

York defensive lineman Darius Reynolds was named Defensive Player of the Year for Conference 27 on Monday.

Leading what turned out to be a havoc-wreaking defensive line, Reynolds logged 68 tackles, 25 tackles for loss and nine sacks.

Reynolds was one of seven Historic Triangle football players to earn first-team All-Conference 27 honors, including six players from York and one from Tabb.

Joining Reynolds as first-team selections from York were offensive lineman Lee Green, wide receiver Luke Gilbert, running back and punt returner Devin Campbell, kicker Logan Weis and defensive end Kemont Lipscomb. Tabb’s lone first-team selection was center Zach Schiele.

York had five players earn second-team selections. The York players tabbed as second-team selections were offensive lineman Nick Norman, wide receiver and defensive back Adam Lytle, quarterback Ramsey Hayyat, defensive lineman JayVon Rush, and all-purpose player and linebacker Campbell.

Four Tabb players were named to the All-Conference 27 second team in seven positions. Offensive lineman Jake Roberts, running back, all-purpose player and defensive back Nick Hunter, kicker and punter Stanley Henderson, and linebacker Matthew Herrmann were all selected as second-team selections.

Below are the full All-Conference selections:

Offensive Player of the Year
Jomari Becnel, Phoebus

Defensive Player of the Year
Darius Reynolds, York

Coach of the Year
Jeremy Blount, Phoebus

First Team Offense

C: Zach Schiele, senior, Tabb
OL: Lee Green, senior, York
OL: Tishawn Cherry, senior, I.C. Norcom
OL: Anthony Davila, senior, Phoebus
OL: Tyquan Johnson, senior, Phoebus
WR: Tyquan Johnson, senior, Phoebus
WR: Elijah Nelson, senior, Phoebus
WR: Luke Gilbert, senior, York
RB: Jomari Becnel, senior, Phoebus
RB: Devin Campbell, senior, York
RB: Damontra Milteer, junior, Lakeland
TE: Cire Greene, senior, Phoebus
QB: Justin Wright, senior, Phoebus
K: Logan Weis, senior, York
KR: Demonte Smith, senior, Booker T. Washington
AP: Alajuwun Langston, junior, Lakeland

First Team Defense

DL: Darius Reynolds, senior, York
DL: Anthony Davila, senior, Phoebus
DL: William Smith, senior, Booker T. Washington
DE: Andre Smith, senior, Phoebus
DE: Kemont Lipscomb, senior, York
LB: Shadarius Horne, junior, Phoebus
LB: Anthony Mitchell, junior, Booker T. Washington
LB: Peyton Ryder, sophomore, Phoebus
LB: Allen Boykins, sophomore, I.C. Norcom
DB: Deshawn Pope, junior, Phoebus
DB: Alajuwun Langston, junior, Lakeland
DB: Johnathan Gregory, junior, Phoebus
DB: Damian Jiggetts, senior, Booker T. Washington
P: Robert Vick, senor, Booker T. Washington
PR: Devin Campbell, senior, York
AP: Jamari Logan, senior, Booker T. Washington

Second Team Offense

C: Kaven Melton, senior, Phoebus
OL: Garrett Whitley, junior, Lakeland
OL: Antonne Lesrois, senior, Phoebus
OL: Jake Roberts, junior, Tabb
OL: Nick Norman, junior, York
WR: Gary Bacon, junior, Booker T. Washington
WR: Andre Jackson, junior, Phoebus
WR: Adam Lytle, sophomore, York
RB: Elanado Worsley, junior, Booker T. Washington
RB: Ricardo Ray, freshman, Lakeland
RB: Nick Hunter, senior, Tabb
TE: Parrish Howell, senior, Booker T. Washington
TE: Monte Howell, senior, Lakeland
QB: Ramsey Hayyat, freshman, York
K: Stanley Henderson, sophomore, Tabb
AP: Nick Hunter, senior, Tabb

Second Team Defense

DL: Tre’Von Claude, junior, Lakeland
DL: Trevor Locke, junior, I.C. Norcom
DL: Tyquan Johnson, senior, Phoebus
DL: JayVon Rush, senior, York
DE: Marqhon Case, senior, Booker T. Washington
DE: Demetrius McKinney, junior, Lakeland
LB: Monte Hillard, senior, Lakeland
LB: DeAndre Faulk, sophomore, Lakeland
LB: Matthew Herrmann, senior, Tabb
LB: Devin Campbell, senior, York
DB: Andre’ Drayton, senior, Lakeland
DB: Marlon Carter, senior, Phoebus
DB: Nick Hunter, senior, Tabb
DB: Cole Lytle, sophomore, York
P: Stanley Henderson, sophomore, Tabb
PR: Demonte Smith, senior, Booker T. Washington
AP: Devin Campbell, senior, York