WJCC School Board Candidates to Share Platforms at Forum

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

WJCC LogoCandidates for the Williamsburg-James City County School Board will have an opportunity to answer questions from residents during a forum Thursday.

The event will take place from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Oct. 8 in the Williamsburg Regional Library auditorium, located at 515 Scotland St.

All six candidates for the school board will attend the event, said Suzie Yeats, president of the WJCC Parent-Teacher Association Council.

Yeats said the forum is not a debate, but rather an opportunity for citizens to listen to the candidates share their platforms and have questions answered.

“I think it is really important to understand who the candidates are, what they stand for and what their platforms are,” Yeats said. “Whether you have a student who’s attending the school district or you’re just a community member at large, I think it’s really important to pay attention to what’s happening with our school board.”

The forum will be moderated by Meredith Collins, publisher of Williamsburg’s Next Door Neighbors magazine, who will read the questions to the candidates. Questions may be submitted at the event or in advance by sending an email to wjccptac@gmail.com.

There are contested elections for three seats on the school board this year.

John D. “Rio” Riofrio and Sandra S. Young are competing for the Berkeley seat, which current board member Ruth Larson is vacating to run for the JCC Board of Supervisors seat in the Berkeley District.

Newcomers James W. Beers and Petra E. Nadal are competing for the Roberts seat, which opened when current board member Heather Cordasco announced her bid for the JCC Board of Supervisors seat in the Roberts District.

Incumbent James P. Nickols and newcomer Holly A. Taylor are vying for the Stonehouse seat. Nickols was first elected to the seat in 2007.

Board members are elected to four-year terms. Elections for the school board and the board of supervisors will take place Nov. 3.