Government Offices Closed Today for Fourth of July is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Fireworks at Yorktown's Riverwalk. (photo courtesy York County)
Fireworks at Yorktown’s Riverwalk. (Photo Courtesy York County)

Offices and many other local government services in the Historic Triangle will be closed Friday in observance of Independence Day.

York County

The York-Poquoson Courthouse, all county offices, the Virginia Cooperative Extension Service, the Waste Management Administrative Office and the York-Poquoson Social Services office will be closed Friday. All York County Libraries will be closed Friday and Saturday.

The garage transfer station, recycling and trash drop-off areas and the VPPSA Compost Facility will remain open Friday.

Trash collection in York County will not be affected by the holiday, and trash will be picked up as scheduled.

The beach picnic area at the intersection of Water and Compte de Grasse streets in Yorktown will be closed to vehicular traffic all day Saturday for the Fourth of July event.


James City County

The Williamsburg-James City County Courthouse and county offices will be closed Friday.

The James City County Recreation Center, Abram Frink Jr. Community Center, the county’s convenience centers and garbage transfer station will be open on Friday but closed on Saturday.

All libraries in the county will be closed Friday and Saturday.

Recycling in the county will not be affected by the holiday.


All city offices are closed Friday.


See WYDaily’s Fourth of July events guide for a list of parades, concerts, auctions, historical readings and fireworks in the Historic Triangle, and find all you need to know for parking during fireworks events here.