Two Candidates Jump into WJCC School Board Race Ahead of Deadline is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

WJCC LogoNeither the City of Williamsburg nor James City County held primary elections Tuesday, but the field of candidates for the Williamsburg-James City County School Board grew by two.

Two candidates submitted paperwork to run for the School Board before the June 9 filing deadline elapsed.

Toano resident Holly Taylor and James City County resident Sandra S. Young filed the necessary paperwork to run for the Stonehouse and Berkeley seats, respectively, on the WJCC School Board.

“I am excited about the campaign ahead,” Taylor said in an email.

Young did not respond to requests for comment Wednesday.

Taylor will square off against incumbent Stonehouse board member Jim Nickols, who currently serves as parliamentarian of the School Board. Nickols announced in April he would seek a third term.

Ruth Larson currently holds the Berkeley seat on the School Board. Larson is vacating the seat to run for the Berkeley seat on the James City County Board of Supervisors.

Young will face College of William & Mary professor John “Rio” Riofrio in the race for the open Berkeley seat.

The passing of the filing deadline set a two-person race for the Roberts seat on the School Board, which is being vacated by incumbent Heather Cordasco. Grove resident Petra Nadal will face William & Mary emeritus professor James Beers on the November ballot.

The WJCC School Board is a nonpartisan board that makes curricular, financial and operational decisions for the school division, and is made up of seven members. Five are elected to represent geographic districts in James City County, and two are appointed by the Williamsburg City Council to represent the City of Williamsburg at-large.

The term of board member Elise Emanuel (City of Williamsburg) is also up at the end of the calendar year. Emanuel has said she will not seek reappointment to the School Board.

The general election will be held Nov. 3.

Related Coverage: