Warhill’s Doherty Named Conference 25 Girls Soccer Player of the Year

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Shaye Doherty was named Conference 25 Player of the Year. (file photo)
Shaye Doherty was named Conference 25 Player of the Year. (File Photo)

Historic Triangle athletes make up a majority of the All-Conference 25 first team, claiming 14 of the 16 available slots.

Warhill’s Shaye Doherty nabbed the highest Conference 25 honor, being named Player of the Year for the 2015 season.

Doherty scored a team-high 18 goals and logged 14 assists for the Lions.

“Her grit and determination, she brought it every game,” Warhill coach Jae Kim said. “She was integral to the success of the team. She got everyone motivated and led by example. She never gave up. Every time she went on the field she gave 100 percent.”

Meanwhile, Lafayette Coach Kevin Nealer was named Conference 25 Coach of the Year by his peers.

“Being named coach of the year was an unexpected honor, and it shows how hard our girls have worked this season,” Nealer┬ásaid. “Every girl has put forth incredible effort to make this season a success and it has been exciting to see them grow together as a team.”

Lafayette had the most players named to the Conference 25 first team, including forwards Hannah Potter and Carson Pokorny, midfielder Kristie Peterson and defenders Peyton Kilgore, Jasmine Bunker and Mackenzie Wilson.

Pokorny led the Rams with 10 goals, while Potter, a freshman, added nine goals and four assists for Lafayette.

York and Warhill each placed four players on the first team. For the Falcons, forward Madison Van Dyke, midfielders Michelle Shin and Hannah Elford and defender Madison Dillard were selected as first-teamers.

Warhill forward Kirstyn Aldridge, midfielder Shaye Doherty, defender Tammy Stauffer and goalkeeper Aaliyah Tyler were first-team selections.

Kim heaped praise on his other first-team selections, saying the group worked well together and played for each other.

“Tammy was the defensive leader of the team. She was all over the defensive line covering for people,” he said. “Aaliyah Tyler was a very smooth goalkeeper and was very accomplished. She kept everyone’s head in the game, no matter if we were a goal behind or not. Kirstyn Aldridge took some of the pressure off Shaye and gave us another attacking option.”

Below are the All-Conference selections:

Player of the Year: Shaye Doherty, junior, Warhill
Coach of the Year: Kevin Nealer, Lafayette

First Team
Forward: Madison Van Dyke, sophomore, York
Forward: Camille Freeman, senior, Poquoson
Forward: Hannah Potter, freshman, Lafayette
Forward: Kirstyn Aldridge, junior, Warhill
Forward: Carson Pokorny, junior, Lafayette
Midfield: Shaye Doherty, junior, Warhill
Midfield: Sydney Griffith, junior, New Kent
Midfield: Michelle Shin, junior, York
Midfield: Hannah Elford, junior, York
Midfield: Kristie Peterson, freshman, Lafayette
Defense: Peyton Kilgore, senior, Lafayette
Defense: Tammy Stauffer, senior, Warhill
Defense: Madison Dillard, senior, York
Defense: Jasmine Bunker, senior, Lafayette
Defense: Mackenzie Wilson, senior, Lafayette
Goalkeeper: Aaliyah Tyler, junior, Warhill

Second Team
Forward: Anya Johnson, sophomore, York
Forward: Erin McMullin, freshman, Poquoson
Forward: Sara Ward, sophomore, New Kent
Forward: Zoe Wallace, junior, New Kent
Forward: Sabrina Morris, junior, Park View
Midfield: Eric Page, senior, Colonial Heights
Midfield: Alyssa Costello, sophomore, York
Midfield: Alexis Page, sophomore, Colonial Heights
Midfield: Kristen Taylor, sophomore, New Kent
Midfield: Sydney Green, senior, Park View
Defense: Caitlin McCaugham, senior, New Kent
Defense: Megan Cretney, freshman, Warhill
Defense: Katie Larsen, junior, York
Defense: Julianna Weih, sophomore, Poquoson
Defense: Poppy Crawshaw, senior, Poquoson
Goalkeeper: Megan Roberts, sophomore, Lafayette

Honorable Mention
York: Trinity Choice, Laiken Speegle
Park View: Peyton Lester, Naej Rowe
Lafayette: Emma Shenk, Grace Macomber
Colonial Heights: Alyssa Parrish, Mya Jefferson
Poquoson: Madison Norville, Megan Saetre
Warhill: Victoria Hall, Grace Locke