Warhill Softball Takes Home Top Conference 25 Honors

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

Keely Rochard was named Conference 25 Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year. (file photo)
Keely Rochard was named Conference 25 Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year. (File Photo)

Fresh off a Conference 25 championship, the Warhill softball team has started receiving recognition for its outstanding season.

On Monday, Warhill sophomore pitcher Keely Rochard was named Conference 25 Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year. Warhill’s head coach Meredith Powell was also honored as Conference 25 Coach of the Year.

Rochard led the Lions pitching staff with a 12-1 record while allowing just 12 earned runs over 86.1 innings pitcher, good for an ERA of .973. Rochard also struck out 110 batters and allowed 44 hits.

While Rochard’s pitching draws its fair share of attention, the sophomore is no slouch at the plate either. Rochard posted a batting average of .466 that included 23 RBIs and four home runs.

In total, the Lions placed five athletes on the All-Conference 25 first team — Rochard, pitcher Colby Norris, outfielder Jewel Walters, second baseman Olivia Schulz and designated player Haley Smith – and another four on the second team – outfielder Makayla Fannin, outfielder Kasey Tomes, first baseman Norris and third baseman Kieran McClure.

Perhaps the most impressive part of Warhill’s prevalence on the All-Conference teams is the overall youth of the Lions roster. Of the eight Warhill players honored, four are upperclassmen with only two seniors.

Warhill, which carries a 20-3 record, was not the only Historic Triangle team to place multiple athletes on the All-Conference first team.

York also had four athletes – pitcher Chelsea Evans, outfielder Katie Russell, shortstop Destiny Martinez and utility Devon Smith – named first-team All-Conference 25 selections.

“Those four selected on the first team have been a powerhouse and it’s proven when other coaches vote for them that they’re a valuable part of the team,” York Coach Ashley Meredith said of her four first-team selections. “But this doesn’t mean they’re the whole team, it takes all nine players to be successful.”

Below are the full Conference 25 selections:

Player of the Year: Keely Rochard, Warhill
Pitcher of the Year: Keely Rochard, Warhill
Coach of the Year: Meredith Powell, Warhill

Pitcher: Keely Rochard, sophomore, Warhill
Pitcher: Chelsea Evans, sophomore, York
Pitcher: Colby Norris, senior, Warhill
Outfield: Brittany LaPrade, senior, New Kent
Outfield: Jewel Walters, sophomore, York
Outfield: Katie Russell, sophomore, York
Outfield: Kelby Lewis, sophomore, Southampton
First Base: Emiley Angle, junior, New Kent
Second Base: Olivia Schulz, freshman, Warhill
Third Base: Amanda Crutchfield, senior, Park View
Shortstop: Destiny Martinez, junior, York
Catcher: Emily Bartholomew, sophomore, Colonial Heights
Utility: Devon Smith, junior, York
Designated Player: Haley Smith, junior, Warhill

Second Team
Pitcher: Odicci Alexander, junior, Park View
Pitcher: Destiny Eberhard, senior, New Kent
Pitcher: Katelyn Cobb, senior, Southampton
Outfield: Makayla Fannin, junior, Warhill
Outfield: Gabrielle Boesler, sophomore, Lafayette
Outfield: Kasey Tomes, senior, Warhill
Outfield: Camden Powers, sophomore, Park View
First Base: Colby Norris, senior, Warhill
Second Base: Molly Rogerson, junior, York
Third Base: Kieran McClure, sophomore, Warhill
Shortstop: Paige Simpson, junior, New Kent
Catcher: Devon Smith, junior, York
Utility: Kirsten Bailey, sophomore, Park View

Honorable Mention
Colonial Heights: Ashley Knowles, Kaley Morning
Lafayette: Julia Jones, Susan Smith
New Kent: Madison Beasley, Stephanie Torrence
Park View: Madison Tucker, Sydney Crafton
Poquoson: Megan Hibbs, Morgan Henley
Southampton: Skyler Bagnel, Savannah Nipper
Warhill: Hayley Schulz, Jasmine Ortiz
York: Hayley Winfree, Maddi Capps