Walsingham Academy Celebrates Class of 2015

WYDaily.com is your source for free news and information in Williamsburg, James City & York Counties.

The 33 members of Walsingham Academy's class of 2015 graduated Saturday. (Courtesy Walsingham Academy)
The 33 members of Walsingham Academy’s class of 2015 graduated Saturday. (Courtesy Walsingham Academy)

Walsingham Academy will graduate 33 students in the class of 2015 today.

The graduates received 91 acceptance offers from colleges and universities across the country, and more than $1.9 million in scholarship offers.

Two students, Courtney Carpenter and Emma Schellpeper, were selected as co-valedictorians.

Both plan to attend the University of Virginia for the fall 2015 semester.

Below is the full list of graduates in the Walsingham class of 2015:

Ashley Elizabeth Barnes
Alex James Bolton
Lisette Kathleen Brondyke
Kai Aaron Brown
Courtney Lynn Carpenter
Kavron Anias Carr
Thomas Ewing Chisam
Abigail Lillie Cryts
Mary Catherine O’Leary Duke
Richard Randolph Gunn
Theodore William Gutches
Jenna Marie Hamra
Andrew John Hartman
William McMillan Hester, Jr.
Michael Hampton Holder
Austin Wayne Jennings
Jack Weldon Keating
Ryan Joseph Keating
Bridget Kathryn Killilea
Ellina DaHae Kwon
Kian Patrick Lawlor
Molly Elizabeth Menoni
Caitlin Nicole Mitchell
Marisa Anne Ross
Emma Rose Schellpeper
Brett Michael Smith
Kristen Camille Vogelbein
DingXiong Wang
Meredith Gray Watkins
Mackenzie Sullivan Woloszynowski
Bowei Han
Runqiu Ma
Renjie Xiao


Six students will participate in college athletics in the fall:

Lissette Brondyke, Christopher Newport University, Track & Field
Kai Brown, Richard Bland College, Basketball
Thomas Chisam, James Madison University, Baseball
Abby Cryts, Field Hockey, Christopher Newport University
Austin Jennings, Washington and Lee University, Swimming
Jenna Hamra, Bridgewater College, Volleyball


Senior Awards

The Catherine McAuley Award which is given to students who have distinguished themselves in living the virtue of charity that was present in Sisters of Mercy founder Catherine McAuley’s life and work: Michael Holder, Marisa Ross, Mackenzie Woloszynowski.

The Eloise Jacobs Award, which is given to student athletes that have distinguished themselves as exemplars of the values and traditions of Walsingham’s Athletics Program — excellence, leadership, and service: Ashley Barnes, Brett Smith.

Athletes of the Year: Thomas Chisam, baseball and basketball; Abby Cryts, field hockey and track and field.

Student Scholar Athlete Award: Emma Schellpeper, Michael Holder